Saturday, October 16, 2021

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on Youtube

Court of Common Pleas

Judges of the Court of Common Pleas  

Common Pleas Courts are Pennsylvania’s courts of general trial jurisdiction. They have original jurisdiction over all cases not exclusively assigned to another court and appellate jurisdiction over judgments from the minor courts. They also hear appeals from certain state and most local government agencies.

The courts are organized into 60 judicial districts which generally follow the geographic boundaries of the Commonwealth’s counties; however, seven of the districts are comprised of two counties. They are: Perry-Juniata, Snyder-Union, Franklin-Fulton, Wyoming-Sullivan, Columbia-Montour, Warren-Forest, and Elk-Cameron. Each district has from one to 93 judges.

Each district also has a president judge to administer the affairs of the court. In districts with seven or fewer judges, the judge with the longest continuous service holds this position. In districts with eight or more judges, the president judge is elected to a five-year term by his or her peers.


President Judge Nancy L. Butts 

Secretary: Rhonda Kurtz
(570) 327-2338

Law Clerk: Janine Haughton
(570) 327-2476

Judge Marc F. Lovecchio

Secretary: Rebecca Loner
(570) 327-2336

Law Clerk: Laurel Fox
(570) 327-2345
Judge Joy Reynolds McCoy

Secretary: Jerri Rook
(570) 327-2340

Law Clerk: Jennifer Linn
(570) 327-2375

Judge Eric R. Linhardt

Secretary: Paula Simpler
(570) 327-2318

Law Clerk: Joseph Ruby

(570) 327-2320


Judge Ryan M. Tira

Secretary: Kate Ferguson

(570) 327-2370

Law Clerk: Alexandra Sholley


Senior Judges

Judge Dudley N. Anderson

Kenneth D. Brown



I am a member of the media, how do I access court proceedings during this time?

Any member of the media desiring access to a certain court proceeding may contact the presiding judge’s office via telephone or email to arrange for participation in person or via advanced communication technology. Any member of the general public desiring access to a certain court proceeding may contact the presiding judge’s office via telephone or email to arrange for participation via advanced communication technology. The telephone numbers for the offices of the common pleas judges, family court, and the magisterial district judges are as follows:

  1.  Nancy L. Butts, President Judge – 570-327-2338

  2.  Marc F. Lovecchio, Judge – 570-327-2336

  3.  Joy Reynolds McCoy, Judge – 570-327-2340

  4.  Eric R. Linhardt, Judge – 570-327-2318

  5.  Ryan M. Tira, Judge – 570-327-2370

  6.  Family Court – 570-327-2433

  7.  Magisterial District Court 29-1-01 (Frey) – 570-322-6159

  8.  Magisterial District Court 29-1-02 (Biichle) – 570-327-2275

  9.  Magisterial District Court 29-3-01 (Lepley) – 570-398-4880

  10.  Magisterial District Court 29-3-02 (Whiteman) – 570-326-1714

  11.  Magisterial District Court 29-3-03 (Kemp) – 570-546-7480

  12.  Magisterial District Court 29-3-04 (Solomon) – 570-323-9982
















Copyright 2007 by