Tuesday, April 16, 2024

SEDA-COG Joint Rail Authority

The SEDA-COG Joint Rail Authority (JRA) was created in 1983 by five counties in the region to preserve essential rail freight service in the wake of Conrail abandonments, at the time. Lycoming County joined the Authority in 1996 when the Authority acquired Conrail lines in Lycoming County. Rail service is provided by a public-private partnership arrangement with a short line railroad operator, the Lycoming Valley Railroad. Since its inception, the JRA has grown from five to eight counties with over 200 miles of railroad ownership.

Servicing, Centre, Clinton, Columbia, Lycoming, Mifflin, Montour, Northumberland and Union Counties.


Copyright 2007 by Lyco.org